On unfinished business, some updates and life

Standard

IMG_1756

It’s been a long time since my epitaph on my fourth week of summer in Washington, D.C. in 2014 went live in this space.

Since then, some things have happened: I turned 21, got a job, started writing a book, started traveling a lot, turned 22, drank more coffee than you can ever imagine, met some great folks, paused writing a book and got promoted.

That about sums up the year.

I don’t have a whole lot to share in this post, but let me offer some quick updates on the updates:

  • In December, I announced (and somehow funded) a project that would involve me writing a book about the relationship between millennials and the U.S. political system. While I remain very excited for this book (yes, it’s still happening!), it has been tabled temporarily. However, it’s coming soon. I originally hoped to have it published by the 2016 election; however, due to life getting in the way a bit, I haven’t had as much time as I would’ve hoped. But that’s changing soon. So expect more on that front sooner rather than later.
  • Earlier this month, I was promoted. I am now the Manager of Strategic Initiatives for StateScoop — I’ll be focusing on building and maintaining the already-existing community that we’ve formed around the publication. This will involve me working within my own company and working with both the private and public sector to help make our publication bigger and better than ever. It’s a very exciting time (and why I haven’t had a whole lot of time to write a book).
  • For most of 2015, I’ve been doing a great deal of traveling (for work!). I’ve been to Atlanta, Georgia; Raleigh and Charlotte, North Carolina; Cincinnati, Ohio and Sacramento, California. What’s left for the year? Another trip to Sacramento (I’m actually writing this post from Insight Coffee Roasters in Downtown Sacramento), San Francisco, Kansas City, Salt Lake City and Nashville.

That about covers it.

Watch this space for more thoughts while traveling, as well as some musings on my long-drafted-but-not-published posts on graduating college, the egotism of Kanye West (and it’s inspiration!) and much more.

