Recipes from Jake: CouScoop

Standard

I’ve been wanting to make wellness a priority for a while now, but it’s tough when you live a busy and crazy life. However, now I’ve been, in a sense, forced to make it a priority (forced is a strong word, but you get the picture), thanks to my work at FedScoop.

The team has begun a wellness challenge, and my competitive edge has taken over. I don’t just want to win, I want to dominate.

One of the categories in the challenge that will allow us to get some points is by sharing a (healthy) recipe with the team. I’m going to take that a step further and share it with the world.

So, in honor of the organization that inspired it, I give you…

CouScoop.

Couscoop

Serves five.

The recipe I created serves five total. I cooked a large batch at once and kept the leftovers to give me dinner for the next couple of days. 

Ingredients:

– 10oz Couscous

– .85 to 1lb of Fresh Boneless Chicken Breast

– 1 Green Bell Pepper

– 1/2 Sweet Onion

– Sriracha

– Olive Oil

– Apple Cider Vinegar

– Freshly-ground Black Pepper

– Garlic Powder

– Cinnamon

 

Process:

– First things first, you’ll want to get your water going for your couscous. I followed the instructions on the box, since I had never made couscous before, and it had me put a dash of olive oil and 2 cups of water into a pot and bring it to a boil.

– While the water is boiling (it will happen quicker than you think), slice up your chicken into thin, long slices that will make it easy to pan cook. Also, if you are taking the healthy route, be sure to trim off any small amounts of fat that may exist on your chicken breast. If your water hasn’t started boiling yet, chop up half of an onion and entire green pepper into small, bite-sized pieces.

– When the water started boiling, I dumped in my entire 10oz box of couscous, turned off the heat and let it sit for about 5 minutes.

– In a wok or large frying pan, coat the bottom of the pan with a very thin layer of olive oil and turn on the heat. After about 45 seconds, it should be warm enough to dump in your onions and peppers. Add a coating of freshly-ground black pepper to the vegetables while you’re cooking them early on.

– After about two minutes of cooking the vegetables, add on the chicken and continue to flip and stir the contents of the pan so that everything gets cooked evenly.

– A minute or so later, add a dash of apple cider vinegar – just enough so that it pools a little at the bottom and begins boiling. After this, add some garlic powder and only a single small dash of cinnamon.

Note: Be very careful with the cinnamon, if you use too much it will overpower the entire dish. Also, a good thank you to my housemate, Nate, who inspired the apple cider vinegar / cinnamon mixture.

– As the chicken and vegetables cook, the water from the two will join with the apple cider vinegar to form a simmering, light liquid at the bottom of the pan. Allow these to simmer while you check on the couscous.

– By now, your couscous should be ready to go. The water will be almost (if not entirely) gone. I added a couple sprinkles of black pepper to the couscous and gave it a stir with a chopstick (it had solidified too much to stir with a regular cooking spoon).

– When the pepper is mixed into the couscous, go ahead and dump all the couscous into the frying pan with the vegetables and the chicken.

– Spin it around a little bit making sure that the couscous absorbs the flavor of the contents of the frying pan, turn your heat off.

– Serve on a plate with sriracha on top.

 

Again, this recipe was intended to serve five. The portions are relatively small, so perhaps it shouldn’t be an entire meal, but it was for me.

You can substitute a more complex carbohydrate for the couscous if you’d like.

The dish cost me a total of $12.08, and clocked in at 304 calories per serving, 44g of carbohydrates, 3g of fat, 27g of protein, 8g of sodium and 4g of sugar, according to MyFitnessPal.

 

