I Usually Promenade: The Importance of Change (And Loving the Result)

Standard
The following post was originally featured on a blog I share with my best friend, Dan Balton — I Usually Promenade
_____________________________________________________________________________
January 27, 2013

It’s no secret that life changes. It changes at an incredibly rapid pace and in many unknown and unexpected ways.

A lot has changed in the past few days, and it’s changed in ways that I didn’t expect. To start, one of my favorite bands lately has been The Strokes. Granted, I’ve been delving into some of their older stuff. My favorite song for the past week, and what I assume will be my favorite song of the semester is a song called “You Only Live Once.”

Yeah, I get it, YOLO and all that jazz. This was before YOLO was cool. Either way, The Strokes just released a brand new song off of an album that is set to come out sometime later this year.

On first listen, I hated this song. It sounds like their latest album “Angles,” but it seems to have lost that Strokes feel that “You Only Live Once” and countless other incredible songs of theirs has. The next morning after I had first heard the song, I decided to give it another listen.

I. Loved. It.

I still love it. It’s energizing, exciting, and in some way still holds the beauty of what The Strokes are. I can’t explain how, but it does. And that’s the point – things change, and at first, you might not like how they change. But, after you give it some time to set in, and after you immerse yourself in what has changed, you may discover that you like it. That’s the attitude I’ve needed going into this semester. All week, some members of my newspaper staff have been working on little (and big) projects to accomplish before the full staff of writers comes back on Tuesday, and before our first issue is distributed Friday.

We’ve got some incredible things in the pipeline. Things are changing. And it’s beautiful.

It’s 2013. The world is changing around us. It’s so important to be able to change with it, or at the very least accept the changes that are happening. To everyone who has returned to class already, and to the students starting tomorrow, here’s to a great semester. Make it something that you’re proud of.

You only live once.

